Loving the Journey: looking back and anticipating the road ahead.

This is the one hundredth posting on Beyond the Call. I recently put all the material from the blog together and I was amazed to see that there are enough articles here to fill a 200 page book (approximately 55,000 words!). It’s actually a good example for anyone wanting to write a book. On paper I didn’t appear to have time to write a book along side the other major projects going on (the PhD and my first published book, Discover the Hero Within). But I chose to use the gaps, to share moments of clarity and questioning and this is the result.

If you’ve read a few of the articles here no doubt you’ll notice both certain continuities and some random elements that pop in from time to time. Themes like gratitude, responsibility, love, strategy and gratitude for the tests in life come up regularly, while occasionally I’ll drop in something on car racing, Homeric poetry, or travel. Looking back, I see a picture of my mind. Not all of it to be sure, but some of the moments of which I’m most proud I guess, and certainly those which I have at the time considered worth sharing. It is, in a sense a record of my own journey as it continues to unfold in extravagantly creative ways that never cease to surpass my own imagining.

Looking forward, I expect that this will continue to be the basic function of this writing – to reflect and to share my thoughts on what life throws up. In less than ten weeks now, we’ll be welcoming our first little baby boy into the world. This journey has already started, that’s for sure, and I’m also sure I won’t be able to stop myself from sharing some of the highs and lows of this journey. It’s a bit too early for this now. Mostly I’m just full of feelings of excitement and love for our boy and my amazing wife, Ophelia. Enough said.

Monday morning fresh madeleines straight from the oven and a cup of fresh coffee - heaven!

Really though, I wanted to use this little mile stone as an opportunity to express my gratitude to you, my readers. I am especially moved when I get a note telling me how much one of these pieces has connected to someone. Of course I love to get positive feedback, who doesn’t? But it’s much more than that. Most of all, I love hearing the changes people are making in their lives – doing less of the harmful stuff, and even pursuing dreams, loving more, creating more, travelling more, living more – either way it boils down to taking action and if this has helped just one person take a more resourceful course of action, or helped someone experience more love, more gratitude for life, or reminded them of their own power, then this has already done its job. After all, my primary intention for this, like my coaching and teaching, is to provide a resource that helps to create change, one that reminds you that you are not alone, and that you are already amazing. You are the hero. As the American astrophysicist Carl Sagan put it, “We are star stuff which has taken its destiny into its own hands.” Often the only thing stopping us from experiencing the life of our dreams is our unwillingness to see and know this. It’s so much easier to be sold on the smaller version of ourselves, rather than embrace the truth that we are our own centres of power whether we like it or not. Our every thought, word and deed, and even the absence of these, matters more than we can possibly even begin to comprehend.

Anyway, thankyou, and I look forward to sharing the next 100 moments with you also.

Love the journey!

James

2 thoughts on “Loving the Journey: looking back and anticipating the road ahead.

  1. Congratulations on completing the content for your first book, James! That’s how books (and lives) are written … one page at a time.

    • Thanks Ingrid. The first was actually Discover the Hero Within, there is an excerpt on the link above. The material created for the blog makes another, and there is another in the ether waiting to be written.

Leave a Reply

